Quick Links

Home Page

Joseph Hood

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


National Curriculum

All maintained primary schools in England are required to follow the National Curriculum set by the Department for Education. It is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.
Key Stages
The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.
Primary school year groups in England are divided into:


Early Years Foundation Stage – Nursery and Reception – ages 3 to 5

Key Stage 1 – Years 1 and 2 – ages 5 to 7

Key Stage 2 – Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 – ages 7 to 11